Saturday, 12 December 2009

Mark Ingram wins the Heisman

Mark Ingram was today awarded the 75th Heisman Trophy - the first Alabama player to earn the honour. It's a fair reward for the sophomore running back, who guided his team to an unbeaten season and a berth in the BCS Championship. He set a single season school record with 1542 rushing yards in 2009 and kept the Crimson Tride offense on track during a difficult middle period for quarterback Greg McElroy. His performance against Florida last week certainly helped and there can be little complaint with Ingram's success today. A case could've been made for both Ndamukong Suh or Toby Gerhart, but the fact they lost to Ingram instead of Colt McCoy or Tim Tebow means the Heisman retains some legitimacy at least.

If McCoy or Tebow had won, it would've officially become a joke.


kearly said...

Ingram beat Gerhart by 5 votes.

bob said...

I wish they would give the trophy to the best college football player.